Wk5-Artist Conversation-Molly Ramage

Artist: Molly Ramage

Exhibition: Sleep Sweat

Media: Paper mache, ink, woodcut, paint, print etching

Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Marilyn Werby Gallery

Instagram: Jetbootsjetpack

About The Artist

Molly Ramage is currently a student at CSULB and a mother of one. She is a third year here at CSULB and working towards her BFA in printmaking, with only one more year to go. There was a time when she took a few years off school, but she was always working on different art projects. All her work is actually inspired by personal experience and also from her very vivid dreams.

Formal Analysis

The work displayed in this exhibition range from old to new pieces put together. The older art works use darker colors and are a mixture of different things in a collage. There are tiny faces printed mixed with doodles on a paper. Many of the pieces do not have any texture and are flat. There is however, two pieces of three dimensional art, and an animation in the exhibition. The 3D art is made of paper mache, there is a lot of white used, with random pops of color for certain things. The black color is under the bed to create the idea of a monster.

Content Analysis

Molly uses her dreams and what she calls her “unconscious emotion” to create her artworks. She believes that dreams are used to process emotions and hash them out. As a person she is overwhelmed with emotion and I think that shows in her work. There are a lot of demons in the show which could relate to her somewhat religious background. There is an overall rough narrative within her exhibition which is the end of the world. There’s a girl who is sort of the personification of the devil and she is perceived as the antichrist even though she does not want to be. A supernatural theme runs throughout the exhibition which feels real to her but is actually impossible in the real world. She wants to continue making more art and try to bring more positive emotions into it so she does not let all the negativity get in the way.

Synthesis

When I first walked into the exhibition I was slightly uncomfortable with the demonic feel of the artwork. Demons and nightmares are things that have terrified me my whole life. I grew up going to church, but as I grew up and moved around I stopped going. This exhibition reminded me of all the scary parts of the bible; the demons. I’m not sure if I believe in that sort of stuff but I do not like talking about it so I tried facing my fears by interviewing Molly. I thought maybe I could understand her point of view on those sorts of things and possibly be less afraid.

Leave a Reply

